News Beyond Boundaries

Gbajabiamila, Wase elected Speaker, Deputy

- Advertisement -

0 25

By Toby Prince

Femi Gbajabiamila of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been elected Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Mr Gbajabiamila emerged speaker of the ninth House on Tuesday after defeating Mohammed Bago from Niger State.

He secured 284 votes to defeat who garnered a paltry 76 votes.

The Lagos legislator has been his party’s favourite for the position after breaking protocol by publicly declaring his interest.

Hon Ahmed Idris Wase(Wase federal constituency, Plateau) has been elected unopposed as Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives.

He was nominated for the post by Hon Sade Sole from Kastina state.

The nomination was seconded by Hon Onifioke Luke, a member-elect from Akwa-Ibom.

Get The Latest Discount

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The Is The Best Offere For You

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More